About The Mar-Tans

 

The Mar-Tans were founded by keyboardist/singer Matt Wauchope, drummer Terrence Prather, and Melvin Zachery on bass. They were the long time rhythm section of Sean Costello. They toured and recorded with Sean, traveling through 48 states, Western Europe, and Scandinavia. Playing in Sean’s band allowed them the opportunity to play with blues legends such as Jody Williams, Hubert Sumlin, Pinetop Perkins, James Cotton, and Elvis Costello. They played on three of Sean’s CD’s in addition to numerous local sessions including the Grammy-Award winning gospel act, the Blind Boy’s of Alabama.

The horn section is made up of accomplished musicians who are band leaders in their own right. On trombone and vocals is Jonathon Lloyd who also fronts the reggae band Lloyd’s Rock Steady Review. Saxophonist/singer Will Scruggs is also the leader of organ group CC Booker III.  The Mar-Tans play New Orleans Funk and R&B along the lines of Professor Longhair and the Funky Meters. We also mix in Memphis Soul, originals, jazz, blues, and latin. The band’s first CD, “Repurpose”, was released in April of 2012.  Jam Band and percussion legend Count M’Butu joined the band for a year and a half before his retirement to Argentina in 2014.  The band is hard at work on their next recording due out in 2017.

Band Booking Form

  • If you have any questions about the bands or the event booking process, check out our FAQ and Contact Page

PleaseRock mailing list

[["The Sunshine Experience","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-sunshine-experience\/"],["Band X","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/band-x\/"],["Chelsea Shag","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/697\/"],["Django Earnhardt","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/django-earnhardt\/"],["Coyote Anyway","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/681\/"],["DJ Mp3Po","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/dj-mp3po\/"],["DJ RaeTone","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/dj-raetone\/"],["The Regulars Band","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-regulars-band\/"],["Mystery Men","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/mystery-men\/"],["The Mar-Tans","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-mar-tans\/"],["TRIBUTE – Allman Brothers","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/tribute\/"],["Secondhand Swagger","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/521\/"],["Sailing to Denver","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/sailing-to-denver\/"],["Ruby Velle and the Soulphonics","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/ruby-velle-and-the-soulphonics\/"],["Questionable at Best","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/questionable-at-best\/"],["Michael Magno","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/michael-mango\/"],["Lilac Wine","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/lilac-wine\/"],["Heather Luttrell","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/heather-luttrell-and-the-possumden\/"],["Georgia Mountain Stringband","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/georgia-mountain-string-band\/"],["Dyn-O-Mite","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/dyn-o-mite\/"],["Elegant Bachelors","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/elegant-bachelors\/"],["The Bonaventure Quartet","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/433\/"],["Battlefield Collective","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/battlefield-collective\/"],["Alchemy","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/alchemy\/"],["Atlanta Funk Society","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/atlanta-funk-society\/"],["Moontower","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/moontower\/"],["Space Capone","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/space-capone\/"],["Convoy","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/convoy\/"],["The Galavanters","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-galavanters\/"],["Alex Gordon Hi-Fi","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/alex-gordon-hi-fi\/"],["Blair Crimmins and The Hookers","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/blair-crimmins-and-the-hookers\/"],["The Whiskey Gentry","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-whiskey-gentry\/"],["Please PleaseRock Me","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/please-pleaserock-me\/"],["PleaseRock DJ’s","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/pleaserock-djs\/"],["Members Only","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/members-only\/"],["The After Party","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-after-party\/"],["Yacht Rock Schooner\u2122","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/yacht-rock-schooner\/"],["Yacht Rock Revue\u2122","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/yacht-rock-revue\/"],["Saved by the Band\u2122","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/saved-by-the-band\/"]]