About The Whiskey Gentry

Paste Magazine once said The Whiskey Gentry was a “toe-tapping, steamrolling kind of band, its fingers picking deep into fields of bluegrass…with a punk-inspired kick drum.” Although the band’s sound dwells most generally under the country category, to stifle them with that label isn’t fair. Lauren Staley’s voice, as thoroughly Americana as any of her folk counterparts, rings as clear as a bell. There’s some honky-tonk in their DNA, a wink at bluegrass, but there’s also a hint of garage rock.

Formed in 2009 by husband and wife duo Lauren Staley and Jason Morrow, the Atlanta based band has spent the majority of the last seven years touring the US, averaging over 150 shows per year. They’ve also enjoyed two European tours. A festival circuit favorite, major appearances of theirs include Shaky Knees, Shaky Boots, Merlefest, Bristol Rhythm & Roots Reunion, FloydFest, Papa Joe’s Banjo-B-Q, and The Simple Man Cruise. They’ve opened for many diverse acts such as Butch Walter, Cracker, Camper Van Beethoven, Shooter Jennings, Kid Rock, Infamous Stringdusters, and Donna the Buffalo.

The Whiskey Gentry have independently released two full-length albums. The band’s 2011 debut, Please Make Welcome, garnered critical acclaim with “Cost of Loving You” selected as a finalist in the prestigious Chris Austin Songwriting Competition held at MerleFest. The follow up, 2013’s Holly Grove, showcased the band’s edgier Americana sound; it peaked at #16 on the Americana Radio Chart.

Live from Georgia arrived in 2014, capturing the raw energy and powerful stage presence fans across the world have come to expect from performances. The band’s new release, entitled Dead Ringer, began recording at Asheville’s Echo Mountain Studio in October 2015, with plans to release in 2016.

Hunter S. Thompson wrote that “the whiskey gentry” was “a pretentious mix of booze, failed dreams, and a terminal identity crisis.” While the band does enjoy a good pour, their dreams are becoming reality, their identity is distinct, and the future looks bright. They don’t need gimmicks, tricks or a lot of takes. They don’t need you to think they look or sound shiny. They just want to catch you tapping your toe.

 

Band Booking Form

  • If you have any questions about the bands or the event booking process, check out our FAQ and Contact Page

PleaseRock mailing list

[["The Sunshine Experience","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-sunshine-experience\/"],["Band X","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/band-x\/"],["Chelsea Shag","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/697\/"],["Django Earnhardt","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/django-earnhardt\/"],["Coyote Anyway","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/681\/"],["DJ Mp3Po","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/dj-mp3po\/"],["DJ RaeTone","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/dj-raetone\/"],["The Regulars Band","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-regulars-band\/"],["Mystery Men","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/mystery-men\/"],["The Mar-Tans","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-mar-tans\/"],["TRIBUTE – Allman Brothers","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/tribute\/"],["Secondhand Swagger","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/521\/"],["Sailing to Denver","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/sailing-to-denver\/"],["Ruby Velle and the Soulphonics","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/ruby-velle-and-the-soulphonics\/"],["Questionable at Best","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/questionable-at-best\/"],["Michael Magno","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/michael-mango\/"],["Lilac Wine","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/lilac-wine\/"],["Heather Luttrell","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/heather-luttrell-and-the-possumden\/"],["Georgia Mountain Stringband","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/georgia-mountain-string-band\/"],["Dyn-O-Mite","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/dyn-o-mite\/"],["Elegant Bachelors","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/elegant-bachelors\/"],["The Bonaventure Quartet","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/433\/"],["Battlefield Collective","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/battlefield-collective\/"],["Alchemy","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/alchemy\/"],["Atlanta Funk Society","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/atlanta-funk-society\/"],["Moontower","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/moontower\/"],["Space Capone","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/space-capone\/"],["Convoy","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/convoy\/"],["The Galavanters","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-galavanters\/"],["Alex Gordon Hi-Fi","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/alex-gordon-hi-fi\/"],["Blair Crimmins and The Hookers","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/blair-crimmins-and-the-hookers\/"],["The Whiskey Gentry","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-whiskey-gentry\/"],["Please PleaseRock Me","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/please-pleaserock-me\/"],["PleaseRock DJ’s","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/pleaserock-djs\/"],["Members Only","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/members-only\/"],["The After Party","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-after-party\/"],["Yacht Rock Schooner\u2122","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/yacht-rock-schooner\/"],["Yacht Rock Revue\u2122","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/yacht-rock-revue\/"],["Saved by the Band\u2122","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/saved-by-the-band\/"]]