About TRIBUTE – Allman Brothers

Since its founding in February 2013, Tribute – a celebration of the Allman Brothers Band has quickly established a reputation as the source for the authentic ABB sound in and around Atlanta and throughout the Southeast.

A formidable eight-piece lineup rigged with authentic vintage equipment, Tribute recreates the sound that the Allman Brothers produced over their inspired first five years, channeling the band’s dual-lead guitar fury and driving rhythms with an instinctive appreciation for how this music was originally written, recorded and interpreted on stage.

Behind vocalist Oliver Nichols, a powerhouse who began singing as a youth in the Gospel Church of Charleston (S.C.), Tribute interprets the Allman catalog in such a way that these songs written over 40 years ago come alive again.

This year, Tribute was honored to be on the main stage of The Fox Theatre’s Block Party, commemorating the 40th anniversary of the Save the Fox campaign, where they shared the stage with the legendary Francine Reed. Tribute made its second appearance at the Hoopee Music Park, this time with Tommy Talton and Alvin “Lil Al” Cordy jamming with the band. They also opened for Drivin’ N Cryin’ at a summer festival show and brought down the house at The Foundry in Athens on several Saturday nights! Stay tuned. There is much more to come.

Soon after the band formed, Tribute quickly became a favorite at Atlanta’s legendary blues club, Northside Tavern, regularly jamming the place for shows that lasted well past closing. In quick succession, Tribute played a rooftop gig at Marietta’s Strand Theatre as well as Cartersville’s Grand Theater. 2014 saw the band open for national act Shawn Mullins at the annual Tunes from the Tombs festival, playing for nearly 2,000 in the Promenade of Atlanta’s Piedmont Park, performing in Centennial Park downtown and taking their show on the road to Athens, Gainesville and to Gip’s Place in Bessemer, AL, one of the oldest juke joints in the country. They have also become regulars at the venerable Atlanta music mecca, Smith’s Olde Bar.

Tribute recalls that unique period in American rock, when psychedelia ebbed and the ABB informed us what jazz, rock, country and blues could sound like. Comprised of musicians with decades of performance experience, the members of Tribute bring their shared love of the Allman Brothers Band to life every time they hit the stage.

LINEUP:

Larry Griggs – Guitar

Rod Gunther – Guitar

Chris Jones – Bass

Oliver Nichols – Vocals

John Marsten – Percussion, Acoustic Guitar

Ron Roper – Keyboards, Vocals

Tom Stinson – Drums

Scott Trudeau – Drums

Band Booking Form

  • If you have any questions about the bands or the event booking process, check out our FAQ and Contact Page

PleaseRock mailing list

[["The Sunshine Experience","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-sunshine-experience\/"],["Band X","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/band-x\/"],["Chelsea Shag","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/697\/"],["Django Earnhardt","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/django-earnhardt\/"],["Coyote Anyway","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/681\/"],["DJ Mp3Po","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/dj-mp3po\/"],["DJ RaeTone","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/dj-raetone\/"],["The Regulars Band","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-regulars-band\/"],["Mystery Men","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/mystery-men\/"],["The Mar-Tans","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-mar-tans\/"],["TRIBUTE – Allman Brothers","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/tribute\/"],["Secondhand Swagger","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/521\/"],["Sailing to Denver","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/sailing-to-denver\/"],["Ruby Velle and the Soulphonics","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/ruby-velle-and-the-soulphonics\/"],["Questionable at Best","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/questionable-at-best\/"],["Michael Magno","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/michael-mango\/"],["Lilac Wine","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/lilac-wine\/"],["Heather Luttrell","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/heather-luttrell-and-the-possumden\/"],["Georgia Mountain Stringband","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/georgia-mountain-string-band\/"],["Dyn-O-Mite","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/dyn-o-mite\/"],["Elegant Bachelors","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/elegant-bachelors\/"],["The Bonaventure Quartet","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/433\/"],["Battlefield Collective","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/battlefield-collective\/"],["Alchemy","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/alchemy\/"],["Atlanta Funk Society","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/atlanta-funk-society\/"],["Moontower","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/moontower\/"],["Space Capone","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/space-capone\/"],["Convoy","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/convoy\/"],["The Galavanters","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-galavanters\/"],["Alex Gordon Hi-Fi","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/alex-gordon-hi-fi\/"],["Blair Crimmins and The Hookers","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/blair-crimmins-and-the-hookers\/"],["The Whiskey Gentry","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-whiskey-gentry\/"],["Please PleaseRock Me","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/please-pleaserock-me\/"],["PleaseRock DJ’s","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/pleaserock-djs\/"],["Members Only","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/members-only\/"],["The After Party","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/the-after-party\/"],["Yacht Rock Schooner\u2122","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/yacht-rock-schooner\/"],["Yacht Rock Revue\u2122","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/yacht-rock-revue\/"],["Saved by the Band\u2122","http:\/\/pleaserock.com\/tribute\/saved-by-the-band\/"]]